Benzema wins Ballon D’Or, Sadio Mane comes second and wins Socrates Award

Karim Benzema has won the Ballon d’Or of 2022. After an incredible season with Real Madrid, he was the favorite to win. After helping Los Blancos win LaLiga and the UEFA Champions League, it is fair to say he deserved his first ever Ballon d’Or. Sadio Mane of Bayern Munich came second and Kevin De Bruyne of Manchester City came third.

Alexia Putellas of Barcelona won the Ballon d’Or Féminin. Gavi of Barcelona won the Kopa Trophy, while Thibaut Courtois of Real Madrid won the Yashin Trophy.

Sadio Mane, who finished second in the rankings for the Ballon d’Or, won the first ever Socrates Award for the extraordinary charity work he did in Senegal.

Manchester City won the Club of the Year award and Robert Lewandowski of Barcelona won the Gerd Müller Trophy.